top of page

Getting Past "Sewing Block"


Sometimes getting started is the most challenging part of a project. I know it is for me. I have a room full of project books, boxes of patterns, and totes of fabric. Sometimes it is just plain overwhelming trying to decide what I want to make next.

I have found that when I have a "sewing block" (similar to writer's block") the best way to push though it is to revisit past projects. The easiest way to do this is to keep a digital folder in your computer or on the cloud. I organize my project folder with sub-folders of different types of projects. For instance, I have the following files: quilts; paintings; scrapbook pages; doll clothing; apparel; purses & bags; toys; misc.

The most important part of keeping a digital record is making sure you have backed up your files and that you document your projects. I admit I have not been as diligent as I should have in documenting my completed projects over the years, but it is NEVER to late to start.

When I am struggling with a sewing block, I will often browse the internet for ideas. This too can be overwhelming as there is a plethora of information available to us at our fingertips. Not all of the information is reliable either. Just think back to the last time you tried a recipe from a new website. Did it taste good? Since I have numerous food allergies, most of the recipes I try taste like crap and I have noticed that this happens with many of the patterns and projects online, especially the FREE ones.

Here are a few sites that have great items:

I also will browse through my embroidery designs file on my external hard drive.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page